Megan

 

image

Age: 35

Marital Status: Married, happily.

Occupation: Teacher

Do you have children? No or not yet. We are still waiting on the Lord in this matter.

How long have you lived in Pomona? 13 years

What brought you here? I was an intern with Servant Partners from 2001-2003.

What is the best thing about living in Pomona? Community, by which I mean the people I live with, around and along here.

Where are your favorite places to be in Pomona? So many! Second Street antique stores, The Mission Diner (before it closed), Eco Thrift, The Rookery, Tijuana’s Tacos, AMOCA studio, the Elephant Hills, Magic Door IV, The Barbara Gordon Kindergarten and Casa Primera, The Glass House Record Store, the Library, and my neighborhood.

What is the worst thing about living here? This is hard for me to answer as I love this place. There have been two homicides on my street since I moved to Pearl Street, but this was after years in south Pomona where the worst thing that happened was getting a CD stereo ripped out of my car. What is hard for me currently is apathetic or incompetent local government that is so entrenched that it is hard to get good leadership. The good leaders we get also tend to move along after a few years, which is doubly frustrating.

Can you talk about one significant event that happened during your time in Pomona? I met and married my husband here. I always wanted to be married to someone who I shared a passion with, and for a long time I looked for fellow teachers to marry. It turns out the common passion of Pomona was more than better.

How has living in Pomona changed you? I have really grown up here. I was a pretty awkward young lady with no job or prospects or sense of place in 2001. As I got to know this place I found that it fits me beautifully and gave me confidence and changed my perspective on what is important. I learned, for example, that it is important to be vocal in local politics and speak up.

How have you changed Pomona? That is hard to say. For years I did youth ministry, but as this is a place of transition, all those kids moved on. I hope I did well by them. I have tried to be a friend and neighbor while I’ve lived here. I’ve protested trash stations and library closure, sat on local boards of non-profits, tutored in summers off, walked and rambled around, but I don’t know. I would like to be a person of peace here in the city and see deep systemic change come in full.

Pomona’s city motto is “Vibrant, Safe and Beautiful”.  What motto would you choose for Pomona? Clearly it needs some editing, so how about just “Vibrant”

Any last thoughts you’d like to share? As my husband says “Pomona is a real place.”

.com plug: Pomona Heritage and Pomona Historical Society, two groups who are as concerned with protecting the past as they are for preparing for the future.

Leave a Reply

