Lisa

 

lisa drake

Age: Old enough to overhear someone refer to me as “an older white lady”

Marital Status: Married

Occupation:  Retired Teacher

Do you have children?  Yes

How long have you lived in Pomona? My entire adult life

What brought you here? My husband moved here after college to be part of a Christian community and I joined him after we got married.

What is the best thing about living in Pomona?  It’s cheap, exciting, and there are a lot of really interesting people here.

Where are your favorite places to be in Pomona?   I love the LA County Fair.  And Boba Tea Zone, Pho Vi, and O’Donovans.  The green belt in Philips Ranch is a good walk (especially for my dog). Winco has great prices and a good selection. Target (we have a Target now!!). My church family at First Presbyterian Church of Pomona is the best.

What is the worst thing about living here? Waking up to gunshots. Actually, gunshots are no fun during the day either.

Can you talk about one significant event that happened during your time  in Pomona?   Our street was really dark at night. We organized with a bunch of people in the community to get streetlights put in. It felt really good to be able to make a tangible difference on my street. Even now, that streetlight in front of my house makes me happy.

How has living in Pomona changed you?  I’ve gotten to meet lots of really amazing people who live in Pomona. They give me hope for my life and for this city. Teaching in Pomona was heart-wrenching. It’s made me much more empathetic towards other people. We really don’t all get the same start in life.

How have you changed Pomona?  I have the privilege of being a part of a non-profit called Pomona Hope. We offer tutoring, mentoring, healthy snacks, a safe place for kids, scholarships for local students, parenting classes, and a community garden. It’s so encouraging to talk with the people who are part of the programs at Pomona Hope. I see the positive impact people can have when they come together as a community. It’s really exciting to be a part of it.

Pomona’s city motto is “Vibrant, Safe and Beautiful”.  What motto would you choose for Pomona?  Vibrant is good. Or, “More Vibrant Than It Used To Be”.

Any last thoughts you’d like to share? God is good. And I’m pretty sure He’s easier to see in places that are sometimes hard to live in.

.com plug: www.pomonahope.org   Come check out our programs and make your Amazon.com purchases through us. You can make a difference!

 

Leave a Reply

