Jennifer

jennifer

Age: 37, for another month

Marital Status:  Married

Occupation:  Pick one!  Grandma-sitter/dog-sitter/cake-baker/caterer/mom/wife/and chicken wrangler extraordinaire.  I have my hand in whatever pot can help me bring money home to my family.

Do you have children?  1

How long have you lived in Pomona? About 2 years.

What brought you here? Affordable housing. Pomona was a last-ditch effort where we were able to find an affordable place that worked out with our work/school commutes.

What is the best thing about living in Pomona?  We can keep chickens here!  Getting to know cousins that live in the area and making new friends locally has been great too.

Where are your favorite places to be in Pomona?  Ethan’s farm (a satellite location of Amy’s Farm), my backyard, and the downtown Arts colony.

What is the worst thing about living here? Disrespectful and loud neighbors, the violence, the trash, and stray dogs.

Can you talk about one significant event that happened during your time  in Pomona?   To be honest, it was when I heard that one of my neighbors had chickens.  Sam, my daughter, asked me, “Could we have chickens too?”  So we began keeping chickens as a 14th birthday present for her.  Before that, I had already gardened…but keeping the chickens really opened my eyes to what I wanted to be.  It opened my eyes to the life I wanted to live, the self-sufficient life.  Now I have a vision for a future of eventually leaving this area for  a new home with a wooded acreage and a creek where we will raise our own meat and produce.

How has living in Pomona changed you? It has made me eager for more wide open spaces, the kind of place where you have to drive to your next door neighbor’s house!  I am ready for more peace and quiet and not so many amenities at my fingertips.  Sometimes having so much available makes us more greedy, and it makes us forget what’s important.

How have you changed Pomona?  Well, I don’t know that I have changed Pomona.  I’ve started to supply nice, fresh eggs to my neighbors.  I have also made some difference in my work with Ethan’s Farm.  But, mostly, I’ve stuck my head in the ground!

Pomona’s city motto is “Vibrant, Safe and Beautiful”.  What motto would you choose for Pomona? Oh my, my motto for the city would not include those words!  Perhaps, “Forgotten”.

Any last thoughts you’d like to share? The longer I live here, the more eager I am to pack up and run!

.com plug: You can find Jennifer’s ramblings about urban gardening and chicken-keeping at clucknhoe.wordpress.com…Check it out!

Leave a Reply

