Jessica

12079441_10207221332507635_4246427563855675650_n

Age: 32

Marital Status:  Married

Occupation:  Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor

Do you have children?  Yes, 3

How long have you lived in Pomona? 11 months

What brought you here? We bought a house here.

What is the best thing about living in Pomona?  The diversity of the people and the neighborhoods.

Where are your favorite places to be in Pomona? Lincoln Park, downtown Pomona, any good Mexican Restaurant (or any good restaurant, for that matter!).  You can find every kind of awesome food here.  I also love the music and arts scene in downtown Pomona.  It’s just growing and helping some amazing artists. The School of Arts and Enterprise is also great.

What is the worst thing about living here? I guess I worry the most about the crime, robbery mainly.  I worry about our house getting broken into, or our car getting broken into.  We lock our doors, lock our cars, leave the lights on, and take other precautions.

Can you talk about one significant event that happened during your time  in Pomona?   Joining the Friends of the Pomona Library has been significant for me.  When I went to my first meeting, I got to meet a lot of people who are involved in the community.  It surprised me, in a positive way, how people are preserving the good things in our community and how much people love this city.

Also, buying a home here has been a huge, defining step.  One thing that really drew us to Pomona was that we were able to afford a nice home  here.  Home ownership was a dream of ours and it came true!

How has living in Pomona changed you? I think that, because I bought a home here and my children will be raised here, I want to be part of making this community a better place.  I love Pomona as it is; in its diversity and its soul.  But I also want to show my children the value of being involved and trying to make Pomona a better place, a safe, good place to grow up.

How have you changed Pomona?  I don’t know.  I guess I’m hoping that I’m part of a group of people who live here, take pride in our community, and also want to do things to improve it.  Actually, I know I am because I talk to my neighbors and other locals who have these same goals.  A friend and I are also hoping to help start a PTA at my daughter’s school.  We are trying, but it has been a challenge to get other parents involved because of conflicting work schedules.  I also plan to help preserve the public library for our kids.

Pomona’s city motto is “Vibrant, Safe and Beautiful”.  What motto would you choose for Pomona? I’d say, “Vibrant, Diverse, and Tasty!”

Any last thoughts you’d like to share? I grew up in the San Gabriel Valley and Pomona was always the place we’d come when we’d want to have fun.  I really loved downtown Pomona.  Really, I wouldn’t want to live anywhere else and I hope that Pomona continues to grow and thrive and move in a good direction.

.com plug: Help Jessica preserve the library at Friends of the Pomona Public Library’s facebook page.

Leave a Reply

