Irma

Iirma9

Age:  35

Marital Status:  Married

Do you have children?  Yes, five.

How long have you lived in Pomona?  I was born and raised here.

What keeps you here?  My family is what keeps me here.  I’ve gotten out, but it is my family that keeps bringing me back.

Where are your favorite places to be in Pomona? Oh, I can’t say I have a favorite place here.  I do like Ganesha Park though. I’ve gone there to run before.  Honestly, I just can’t think of anything really good around here.

What is the best thing about living in Pomona?  That’s a very hard question.  I’d have to say it would be family and friends and the support they provide.

What is the worst thing about living in Pomona?  It would be the fear I have about having my children growing up here.

What is one significant event that happened during your time here?  I haven’t had anything really significant.  A time in my life that was really bad was from the life I lived years ago.  My life before was gang related and involved drugs and all that.  But I left that life.  My first pregnancy was what got me out of that life.  I realized I didn’t want to raise a child in that environment.

How has Pomona changed you?  It has made me become a better person.  Because of the life I lived before, I now don’t want to be a bad example.

How have you changed Pomona?  Hmm, I don’t really know.  I think, maybe, in the way that I have changed, the positive changes I’ve made in my life.  I think those positive changes are a good example to friends and family.

Pomona’s city motto is “Vibrant, Safe, and Beautiful”.  What are your thoughts about that motto?  Wow, I can’t agree with that motto! (laughs) That would be like lying!  I really don’t see any of those things here…except maybe in the downtown Antique Row.

.com plug:  Definitely pomonahope.org.  Our children are the future!

Leave a Reply

